Amardesh Online......................

Divisions: Barisal | Chittagong | Dhaka | Khulna | Rajshahi | Rangpur | Sylhet
Districts in Chittagong: Bandarban | Brahmanbaria | Chandpur | Chittagong | Comilla | Cox's Bazar | Feni | Khagrachhari | Lakshmipur | Noakhali | Rangamati

Cox's Bazar District Information

Area2491.86 square kilometers.
Bounded by
Chittagong district on the north, bay of bengal on the south, Bandarban district, Arakan (Myanmer) and the naf river on the east, the Bay of Bengal on the west.
Cox's Bazar thana was established in 1854 and Cox's Bazar Subdivision was formed comprising of Cox's Bazar sadar, Chakoria, Maheskhali and Teknaf thanas. Afterwards three new thanas were constituted under this subdivision such as Ukhia, Kutubdia and Ramu. Under the decentralisation scheme the thanas were transformed into upazilas and the Cox's Bazar subdivision was elevated to a district in 1984. It consists of 7 upazilas, 3 municipalities, 27 wards, 58 mahallas, 67 union parishads, 199 mouzas and 975 villages.
Upazilla/ Thana
Chakaria Upazila, Coxs Bazar Sadar Upazila, Kutubdia Upazila, Maheshkhali Upazila, Ramu Upazila, Teknaf Upazila, Ukhia Upazila

Post Codes for Cox's Bazar District

Elected MP(s) in 2008 Election
Area# Area NameElected MPFrom
294Cox's Bazar-1Hasina AhmedBangladesh Nationalist Party
295Cox's Bazar-2A. H. M. Hamidur Rahman AzadBangladesh Jamaytee Islami
296Cox's Bazar-3Lutfur RahmanBangladesh Nationalist Party
297Cox's Bazar-4Abdur Rahman BodiBangladesh Awami League
Parliament Election Winner (Party-wise): 2001,1996,1991
Seat# Area Name 2001 1996 1991
294 Cox's Bazar-1 BNP (63.36) BNP (46.23) JI (34.97)
295 Cox's Bazar-2 BNP (67.60) BNP (40.77) Other (31.41)
296 Cox's Bazar-3 BNP (91.91) BNP (43.35) BAL (30.20)
297 Cox's Bazar-4 BNP (64.81) BAL (44.28) BNP (48.75)
BAL: Bangladesh Awami League
BNP: Bangladesh Nationalist Party
JI: Jamat E Islami
JP: Jatiya Party
The Arab traders and preachers came to the ports of Chittagong and Akiab in the eighth century AD and consequently the Arab Muslims came in close contact with Cox's Bazar area situated between the two ports. The greater Chittagong including Cox's Bazar was under the rule of Harikela king Kantideva in the nineteenth century. The Arakan king Sulat Inga Chandra (930-975) captured Chittagong in 953 AD and since then Cox's Bazar had been a part of the kingdom of Arakan. Chittagong remained part of the kingdom of Arakan till its conquest by the Mughals in 1666 AD. The Mughal general Buzurg Umed Khan captured the Magh Fort on the southern bank of the Karnafuli and the Arakanise took shelter in the Ramu Fort, which was later surprised by the Mughals.
Places to see
adinath temple (Maheskhali), Tomb of Shah Umar (in Chakoria), Satgumbad Masjid of Fazl Quke at Manikpur, Hasher dighi, Bir Kamla dighi, (in Teknaf) Well of Mathin, (in Kutubdia) Kalarma Masjid, Tomb of Qutub Awliya, (in Ramu) Ramkot Hindu Mandir, Ramkot Buddhist Keyang, Lamarpara Buddhist Keyang, (in Ukhia) Patabari Buddhist Keyang, Kutupalang Buddhist Keyang, Kanabazar underground channel, (in Cox's Bazar) Agvamedha Buddhist Keyang, Buddhist Pagoda, single domed mosque at Jhilanga.
(Daily) Saikat, Cox's Bazar, Ajker Desh-bidesh, Dainandin, Mayer Desh, (weekly) Swadesh Bani, Kutubdia, Chakori, (fartnightly) Mehdi; extinct- Himchhari, Bak-khali, (weekly) Cox's Bazar, Cox's Bazar Barta, Sagar Bani, Sagar Kantha, Naf kantha.
Rivers the matamuhuri, bakkhali, Reju Khal, Naf, Maheshkhali channel and Kutubdia channel; Main forests areas are Phulchhari Range, Bhumaria-ghona Range, Meher-ghona Range, Bak Khali Range.
2005 - 2021 © Amardesh Online | Privacy Policy